About Karelia

Interactive Map
Site map
 

Karelia is an amazing and fabulous land, situated in the North-West of Russia. It is included into the Northwestern Federal District of the Russian Federation.

The western border or the republic forms the state border between Russia and Finland where the four points of intersection are located. So after Finland had entered the European Union, Karelia became a symbolic gateway to northern Europe.

Karelia is a northern land. But its climate is relatively mild, it combines features of continental and marine climates due to the large number of lakes and forests.

In spring and summer daytime increases up to 19-20 hours in the south, in the north daytime lasts for 24 hours when the period of “white nights” begins. The further north the this period lasts.

Karelia is called the Land of Thousands of Lakes! Karelians and Russians, Vepsians and Finns, and representatives of nearly a hundred nationalities live here in peace and harmony.

National, cultural and spiritual traditions are still alive here at the Russian North. And it’s the only place where you can see the most ancient examples of fine art (even older than the Egyptian Pyramids) – the rock paintings created by ancestors of contemporary Karelians.

Karelia is the only nature reserve of a kind where the unique and peculiar nature is preserved in its original state. This fabulous region has a unique landscape and natural resources. More than fifty percent of its territory is covered with forests, which are justly called the “lungs of Europe”. In the southern mountainous part of the republic the main species are oak, beech, hornbeam, and many others. The North of the Republic is famous for its pine forests: spruce, pine, fir. Twenty-two percent of the forest belongs to the category of the first group, where the largest areas are occupied by the forbidden forest belts along rivers, lakes, reservoirs and other water bodies and the forbidden forest belts that protect the spawning grounds of valuable food fishes. Thirty percent of forests belong to the second group and forty-eight percent - to the third group.

About twenty-six percent of the territory of Karelia is occupied by water resources. Statistics can impress: there are 63 000 lakes and 27 000 rivers. They say, there is a river or a lake per every three Karelian families.

In Karelia there are the largest lakes in Europe. Lake Onega is situated in the central part of Karelia. It is the second largest lake in Europe. It is twice less deep than Lake Ladoga and contains three times less water. But the quality of Lake Onega’s water is high: it is cleaner than Lake Ladoga’s water and even the water of Baikal. Lake Onega’s area occupies 9900 square kilometers and its depth reaches 127 meters. Lake stretches for 290 kilometers from northwest to southeast with a maximum width of 82 kilometers. Lake Onega and its largest tributary - the river Ilex Vodla form the top element of the water system of the Neva River. The catchment area of Lake Onega, including its face is 66 284 square kilometers. About eighty percent of this area belongs to the Republic of Karelia. Karelian rivers and lakes are famous not only for their clarity but also for the unique therapeutic effect and mineral properties.

Besides nearly all fish species known to inhabit the inland waters of Karelia can be found in Lake Onega. Its fish fauna is represented by the following families, species and varieties: sturgeon, salmon, lake trout, pike, roach etc. Altogether 47 kinds and varieties of fish belonging to 13 families and 34 species can be found in Lake Onega.

Great and small rivers are situated mostly in mountains and taiga, they are rapid and irregular, with many rapids and shoals.

About a dozen waterfalls are famous all over the world. The most famous of them and the largest of European plain waterfalls is Kivach. Its height is 10.7 meters.

Wood, stones and water are the three discreet symbols of the northern nature’s charm. They are intricately connected in Karelia and create amazingly beautiful and varied of landscapes. In any other area you would need to do a multi-day trip to see and experience the natural and climatic contrasts, while in Karelia you will succeed in it in a couple of hours.

The total area of ​​the Republic of Karelia is 172 400 square kilometers. It stretches from north to south for 720 kilometers and from east to west for 424 kilometers. Karelia is a border region. The length of the border between Russia and Finland in Karelia is 790 kilometers.

The population of the Republic of Karelia in 2006 was 746,000 people, while the population of Petrozavodsk, that is the capital of the region, was 280 thousand people, representing 35 percent of the total population of the republic.

Petrozavodsk is the capital of Karelia. It was founded on the southwestern shore of Lake Onega in 1703 by Peter I. Its length is about 21.7 kilometers; its area is 113 square kilometers. It is the administrative, scientific, cultural, tourist and educational centre of the Republic.

In recent years, a tendency of changes in the travel industry appeared. The point is that both Russian and foreign tourists have started to prefer ecologically clean and untouched by civilization territories to go on vacation to.

The territory of the Republic of Karelia in this respect stands out as the most attractive place in terms of neighboring location to the most densely populated regions of the Russian Federation. Karelia is the land of the exceptionally rich cultural and historical sights and picturesque places, where literally no man has been before. It can satisfy the diverse interests of tourists. In this regard, the role of Karelia as a major center of tourism started to increase.

You can come to Karelia by boat, by train, by bus, by car or by air. From the south to the north Karelia is crosses by the federal highway called “Kola”, leading from St. Petersburg to Murmansk (route M-18). The total length of its Karelian section, passing through nine districts of the Republic, is 969 kilometers. The total length of public highways in Karelia is more than 7,600 kilometers, including almost 3,200 kilometers of roads with asphalt-concrete surfacing and about 3300 kilometers of roads with gravel surfacing. An experienced driver can cross the whole of Karelia in meridional direction in 12-14 hours. The most popular way of the republican significance, crossing Karelia from west to east is the route of the international tourist route called “The Blue Highway”. It starts in the Norwegian city of Mo i Rana, crosses Sweden and the Gulf of Bothnia, Finland, Pryazha, Petrozavodsk and Medvezhyegorsk and ends (for now) after the Lake Onega in the ancient merchant town Pudozh.

 

 

Site map Creation of the Web Site 2008-2011 © Sergey W Kazachkin

О КАРЕЛИИ

Интерактивная карта
Карта сайта
 

Карелия... удивительный, сказочный край, расположенный на северо-западе России и входящий в состав Северо-Западного федерального округа Российской Федерации.

По территории субъекта на западе проходит внешняя государственная граница между Россией и Финляндией, на которой расположены четыре пункта пересечения. Таким образом, после вступления соседней Финляндии в Европейский Союз Республика Карелия стала своеобразными воротами в Северную Европу.

Карелия - это северный край. Но климат здесь сравнительно мягкий, сочетает черты континентального и морского. Он обусловлен наличием большого количества озер и лесов.

Весной и летом светлое время суток увеличивается до 19-20 часов на юге, а на севере день продолжается целые сутки, наступает период "белых ночей". Чем дальше на север, тем дольше летом держатся белые ночи.

"Край тысячи озер" - так называют Карелию! Эта земля, где в мире и согласии живут карелы и русские, вепсы и финны, и еще представители почти сотни национальностей.

Здесь, на русском севере, еще живы народные, культурные и духовные традиции. И только здесь сохранились древнейшие, старше самих египетских пирамид, произведения изобразительного искусства - наскальные рисунки, созданные далекими предками нынешних карел.

Карелия - единственный в своем роде заповедник, где в первозданном виде сохранена неповторимая, своеобразная природа. Этот сказочный край обладает уникальными ландшафтно-природными ресурсами. Более пятидесяти процентов ее территории занимают леса, которые совершенно справедливо называют "легкими Европы". В южной горной части республики основные породы - дуб, бук, граб и многие другие. Север республики славится своими хвойными лесами - ель, сосна, пихта. Двадцать два процента всего леса - категория первой группы, в составе которых наибольшие площади занимают запретные полосы лесов по берегам рек, озер, водохранилищ и других водных объектов и запретные полосы лесов, защищающие нерестилища ценных промысловых рыб; тридцать процентов представлены лесами второй группы и сорок восемь процентов - лесами третьей группы.

Около двадцати шести процентов территории Карелии - это водные ресурсы. Статистика способна поразить воображение: здесь насчитывается 63 тысячи озер и 27 тысяч рек. Говорят, что на каждые 3 карельские семьи приходится одна река или одно озеро.

В Карелии самые крупные озера Европы. В центральной части Карелии находится Онежское озеро. Это второе по величине озеро Европы. Оно вдвое мельче Ладожского и содержит в 3 раза меньше воды. Но онежская вода очень высокого качества: она чище ладожской и даже байкальской. Площадь Онежского озера - 9,9 тысяч квадратных километров, а глубина доходит до 127 метров. Озеро вытянуто на 290 километров с северо-запада на юго-восток при максимальной ширине 82 километра. Именно оно и его крупнейший приток - река Илекса-Водла являются верхним звеном водной системы реки Невы. Площадь водосбора Онежского озера, включая его зеркало, равна 66284 квадратных километров. Около восьмидесяти процентов этой территории относится к Республике Карелия. Славятся карельские реки и озера не только своей чистотой, но и уникальными лечебными, минеральными свойствами.

Также, в водах Онежского озера встречаются почти все виды рыб, известные во внутренних водоемах Карелии. Его ихтиофауна представлена следующими семействами, видами и разновидностями:  стерлядь, лосось озерный, форель, щука, плотва и т.д. Всего в Онежском озере встречается 47 видов и разновидностей рыб, относящихся к 13 семействам и 34 видам.

Реки от мала до велика в большинстве своем горно-таежные, стремительные и неровные, с большим количеством порогов и перекатов.

Около десятка водопадов знамениты на весь мир. Самый известный из них - крупнейший из европейских равнинных водопадов, водопад Кивач. Высота падения воды составляет 10,7 метров.

Лес. Камень. Вода. Три этих неброских символа очарования северной природы причудливо соединились на карельской земле, создав удивительно красивые и разнообразные пейзажи. В любом другом регионе Вам понадобится проделать многодневные путешествия, чтобы увидеть и почувствовать природные и климатические контрасты, в Карелии Вам это удастся за пару часов.

Общая площадь Республики Карелия составляет 172400 квадратных километров. Протяженность с севера на юг достигает 720 километров, а с запада на восток - 424 километра. Карелия -приграничный регион. Протяженность российско-финляндской границы на карельском участке составляет 790 километров.

Численность населения Республики Карелия на 2006 год составляет 746 тысяч человек, а численность населения столицы края города Петрозаводска - 280 тысяч человек, что составляет 35 процентов от всего населения республики.

Петрозаводск - столица Карелии, был основан на юго-западном берегу Онежского озера в 1703 году Петром I. Его протяженность около 21,7 километров, площадь 113 квадратных километров. Это административный, научный, культурный, туристический и образовательный центр республики.

В последние годы наметились тенденции к изменениям в сфере туристического бизнеса, заключающиеся в переориентации отношения российских и зарубежных туристов к месту проведения отдыха в пользу экологически чистых, не затронутых цивилизацией территорий.

Территория Республики Карелия в этом отношении выделяется как наиболее привлекательная с точки зрения расположения по близости к наиболее густонаселенным районам Российской Федерации. Край исключительно богатый культурно-историческими объектами и живописными местами, куда в буквальном смысле не ступала нога человека, и способен удовлетворить самые разнообразные интересы туристов. В связи с этим роль Карелии как одного из значительных центров туризма начала возрастать.

Чтобы попасть на территорию республики, можно воспользоваться теплоходом, железной дорогой, автобусом, автомобилем или авиатранспортом. Всю Карелию с юга на север пересекает федеральная автомагистраль "Кола", ведущая от Санкт-Петербурга до Мурманска (маршрут М-18). Общая протяженность карельского участка, проходящего через девять районов республики - 969 километров. Всего в Карелии проложено автомобильных дорог общего пользования более 7600 километров, в том числе почти 3200 километров с асфальтово-бетонным покрытием, около 3300 километров с щебеночно-гравийным покрытием. Опытный водитель может пересечь всю Карелию в меридиональном направлении за 12-14 часов. Самая популярная дорога республиканского значения, пересекающая Карелию с запада на восток - трасса международного туристского маршрута "Голубая дорога". Он начинается в норвежском городе Мо-и-Рана, пересекает Швецию, Ботнический залив, Финляндию, Пряжу, Петрозаводск и Медвежьегорск и завершается (пока) за Онежским озером, в старинном купеческом городе Пудоже.

 

 

 

Карта сайта Создание интернет сайта 2008-2011 © SergeyW Kazachkin